Wining and Dining at the Santa Barbara Public Market

This weekend I did something new! I went to the Santa Barbara Public Market, this is a smaller indoor market full of about 10 different restaurants and food vendors! On Friday night with my Dad and two little sisters out of town for volleyball my mom and I had a “date night”. After coming home after lacrosse practice that afternoon my mom and I were trying to decide where we wanted to go out to dinner and what our plans for the evening were. After surveying our options and looking at Yelp reviews we decided on a noodle bar called Empty Bowl in the public market.

  

It was supposed to be pretty good weighing in at 4.2 stars on Yelp and holding the title of best noodle bar in Santa Barbara, so my mom and I were looking forward to trying it and checking it out!

We should up to the Public Market with the hope of a amazing dinner, when we walked in the market was packed with tons of people at all the different restaurants and stores. Empty Bowl was right in the center of the action, it was a smaller restaurant with only about 18 seats at the bar itself. Finding two seats was hard but with my killer instincts I was able to snag some quick!

We sat down and got to looking at the food! I was really excited because I love Asian food and if you do this is definitely a spot to check out! It had a smaller menu with about 4 starters, 4 soup noodles, and 4 stir fry noodle options. My mom and I decided to order the Thai curry soup noodle, pad Thai stir fry noodle and a round of pot stickers!

The food came out relatively fast within 20 minutes or so, if your in a hurry though they have a to go option. Once our hot steamy plates of yumminess showed up we chowed down and dug in to the delicious food we had ordered!


The menu surrounds all kinds of dietary restrictions. You can order egg noodles, rice noodles, or whole wheat noodles. As well as protein options you can order tofu, chicken, shrimp, beef, or fish with your food. So the possibilities are endless!!!

At the Public Market there are a wide variety of different restaurants besides Empty Bowls, including places like Corazon Cocina serving delicious Mexican food daily! Or even Rori’s Ice Cream, I’a Fish Market and Cafe, and there’s a winery so you can taste some of the hundreds of different bottles they have to offer!

This is an awesome spot! Both the Empty Bowls and the Public Market in general are awesome places to take a look at any day of the week! It was a new experience for me but I know this is going to turn into one of my favorite spots already!!!

Fun: 7/10

Interactive: 8/10

Unique: 9/10

Overall: 8/10 Another awesome spot to check out!!!!

Leave a Reply

